Oversized Ruler Growth Chart

I keep seeing over-sized ruler growth charts EVERYWHERE!  I love that you can take them with you if you were to move, but still have that “marking the wall feel.”   I wanted one so bad but I was not about to pay $75!!!  Classic Katie DIY time to keep it on a budget.

IMG_8456

supplies2

Supplies List:

  1. Paint or wood stain ($2.98)
  2. Measuring tape (already had)
  3. Paint brush or small roller (already had)
  4. 1 x 8 x 8 piece of wood. I used a Kiln-Dried Whitewood Softwood Board.  I cut my board down to 6.5′.  6′ for ruler and 5″ for header. ($11.48)
  5. Vinyl decals (purchased from Little Acorns By Ro’s Etsy shop – they have great instructions included!)  ($8 + $9.99)
  6. Sawtooth metal bracket (already had)
  7. Rust-oleum 12 oz Crystal Clear Glossy Spray Paint ($3.76)

*Sandpaper and wood filler might be needed!

Budget:   Under $40!

IMG_8092

First step, a trip to Lowes.  I enlisted Jamie and Livie as helpers.

IMG_8096

I went through about 20 different boards before I found one I liked.  You don’t want a lot of knots or holes in them if you are painting a solid color.  If you are staining, knots would probably be better and more rustic looking.  It’s all up to you.

IMG_8429

I painted the board with two coats of Valspar Pantone Pink Carnation Interior Stain Paint after filling in holes with wood filler and sanding.  One 8 oz sample is only $2.98 and I only used about 2-3 oz to paint the whole board!  I also gave it two coats of Rust-oleum clear spray enamel, my favorite top coat because it goes on so smooth and dries super fast. Wait 24 hours between coats and wait 48 hours before you apply vinyl decals.

IMG_8441

I marked off every 12 inches starting 4 inches from the bottom of the board.  The 1 started 4 inches from the bottom and so on. I wanted to hang the chart 8 inches off the ground so the first foot had to start 4 inches on the board.

IMG_8442

I then peeled back the vinyl decals backing and arranged them on the board.

IMG_8443
I made sure to get all air bubbles out and make sure the decals were stuck on with my credit card.

IMG_8444
I then applied her cute header.

IMG_8445
Next, is my favorite part.  The reveal!  Peeling off the paper.  Always go at an angle and go slow!

IMG_8446So cute!IMG_8447
The final step was to add the numbers.

IMG_8449
Jamie hung the chart with a metal sawtooth bracket.

IMG_8453

katiesignature

Leave a Reply

